The Dawn Princess

A Pirates of the Cursed Seas Fan-Site

Terrain

Terrain is printed on the backs of island cards. You may choose to use the terrain side (per the rules for that terrain) or the island side (per the normal rules for islands). 

 

Fog Bank

A fog bank has the numbers 1-6 printed around its edges.


When any part of a ship or sea creature (game piece) touches a fog bank, the entire game piece must be placed within the fog bank as a free action; the game piece's turn ends, even if it could move father that turn.  A game piece in a fog bank is lost. Lost game pieces can't shoot, be shot at, ram, pin, or board other ships. Fog banks block lines of fire.


Game pieces exit fog banks in random directions. When a game piece is given a move action to exit a fog bank, roll on d6 before moving it. Place the game piece outside of the fog bank and touching the number on the fog bank that matches the die result; it can face in any direction away from the fog bank and is no longer lost. Begin moving the game piece from that point.

 

Iceberg

An iceberg has the numbers 1-6 printed around its edge, as well as a gold number printed at its center.


At the beginning of each player's turn, before any actions are assigned, that player must roll a d6. Compare the result to the blue number printed on all icebergs in play. If the result matches any iceberg(s), those icebergs move that turn. For each iceberg that will move, roll another d6 and match the result to the number printed around the iceberg's edge. Measuring straight out from the number away from the iceberg, move the iceberg S. Do not turn or rotate it.


If an iceberg touches any ship or sea creature, stop moving it and eliminate one mast or segment from the touched ship or sea creature.  If an iceberg touches an island, it can no longer move the rest of the game.

 

Reef

When any part of a ship or sea creature moves onto a reef, roll a d6. The result is the reef's rating until the end of that player's turn. Place the die result on the reef to remind you what the rating is. Compare the rating to how many masts or segments the game piece had when it was constructed. If the reef's rating is lower than this number of masts or segments, the game piece has a number of masts or segments eliminated equal to the difference.


For example, if a 3-mast ship sails over a reef with a rating of 4, no masts are eliminated. If a 4-mast ship sails over a reef with a rating of 2, two masts are eliminated. If the reef rating and number of masts or segments are the same, no masts or segments are eliminated.

A game piece that begins its turn on a reef does not have to roll to see if masts or segments are eliminated when it moves off the reef.


If a ship takes more damage than it has masts remaining as a result of sailing over a reef, she is wrecked and remains on the reef; a wreck blocks movement and lines of fire. To signify that a ship is a wreck, remove one of his hull pieces. This will cause the ship to "lean" onto the reef and look like she is wrecked there. Any crew or treasure on a wreck remains on the wreck, and wrecks can be explored. Sea creatures that have all their segments eliminated by a reef are eliminated as normal.

 

Sandbar

(Unofficial Terrain)


Inspired by Cadet-Captain Mike (Cke1st's Pirates Page)


When any part of a ship or sea creature moves onto a sandbar, roll a d6. The result is the sandbar's rating until the end of that player's turn. Compare the rating to how many masts or segments the game piece had when it was constructed. If the sandbar's rating is less than the number of masts or segments, the game piece has run aground and might not be able to move.


For example, if a 3-mast ship sails over a sandbar with a rating of 4, she may continue her movement across it. If a 4-mast ship sails over a sandbar with a sandbar with a rating of 2, it must stop, even if she could move farther that turn. If the sandbar rating and the number of masts or segments are the same, the ship must stop after sailing over the sandbar, even if she could move farther that turn.


If a game piece has run aground, you can use its action for the turn to try to free it. Roll a d6. Subtract the current number of masts or segments or the result from whichever is higher. If the result is 1 or less, the game piece is free. It can be given a move action to move normally next turn.


(This is designed to be an obstacle similar to Sargasso Seas, but targeted for larger ships rather than smaller ships, and not damaging like a Reef) 

 

Sargasso Sea

When a ship or sea creature moves over a Sargasso Sea, roll a d6. The result is the Sargasso Sea's rating until the end of that player's turn. Compare the rating to how many masts or segments the game piece had when it was constructed. If the Sargasso Sea's rating is higher than the number of masts or segments, the game piece is tangled in the weeds and might not be able to move.


For example, if a 3-mast ship sails over a Sargasso Sea with a rating of 4, she is tangled. If a 4-mast ship sails over a Sargasso Sea with a rating of 2, the ship is unaffected. The Sargasso Sea rating and the number of masts or segments are the same, the game piece is unaffected.


If a game piece is tangled, you can use its action for the turn to try to free it. Roll a d6 and add the current number of masts or segments on the tangled game piece to the result. If the result is more than 6, the game piece is untangled. Orient it  in any direction, facing away from the Sargasso Sea. It can be given a move action to move normally next turn.

 

Trade Current

A trade current is a type of terrain not placed at the beginning of the game. Instead, game effects allow trade currents to be placed during the game. For example, a crew with the Navigator keyword can place trade currents. A trade current is friendly to the player who placed it. Once per turn when a friendly ship moves over or begins her turn touching a friendly trade current, she gets +S to her base move.
 

Whirlpool

When any part of your ship or sea creature touches a whirlpool, you may choose to place it so that it touches any other whirlpool on the play area. If you do, roll a d6 after it is moved. On a result of 4-6, eliminate either one mast (or segment), one treasure, or one crew from the game piece.